Latest Football News

Winner of the United States in the final, Mexico wins its 8th title

News by worldsportsbox

 Latest Football News – The Gold Cup remains the preserve of Mexico, which went to beat the United States (1-0) Sunday in Chicago to win the competition for the 8th time, a record.

New Gold Cup for Mexico. In the final of the tournament, El Tri beat the United States (1-0) in the night from Sunday to Monday to win this title for the eighth time in its history. The Mexicans dropped the storm in the first period before accelerating and scoring the only goal of the meeting by Jonathan Dos Santos in the 73rd minute. On six finals against the Americans in this championship nations in the North America, Central America and Caribbean (Concacaf), the Mexicans have won five times!

American domination

The celebration of “soccer” could have been complete in the United States if, a few hours after the success of the ladies at the World Cup in France, their male counterparts had managed to retain their title in the Gold Cup.

But Gregg Berhalter’s players missed their chances in the first period before being gradually stifled by a team from Mexico backed by many fans in the Soldiers Field in Chicago.

Thus, Jozy Altidore long regret his duel lost to Guillermo Ochoa in the 7th minute, but the American striker, in an ideal position, missed the frame. Christian Pulisic (6th, 43rd) and Paul Arriola (31st) were also close to finding the opening, while the Mexicans failed to secure an opportunity worthy of the name, especially due to a lack of quality. very random centers.

Dos Santos as a hero

After the break, Aaron Long still thought he could open the header on a corner, but the ball was saved on his line by Mexican captain Andres Guardado (53).

The signal of the awakening for the players of Gerardo Martino who from this moment made the seat of the goal of Zack Steffen. But neither Guardado (53), nor Rodolfo Pizarro (58) nor Raul Jimenez (63, 67), nor Jesus Gallardo (69) found the flaw at first. Before Dos Santos, finally, unblocks the score, a shot from the left just below the bar (73).

Since the creation of the Gold Cup in 1991, the United States and Mexico have shared all titles, with the exception of 2000 when Canada has created a surprise.


No record found.
No record found.